National Gas Law

In 2008 the Ministerial Council on Energy’s Standing Committee of Officials completed consultation on and drafting of a new national gas law. The National Gas (South Australia) Act 2008 implementing the National Gas Law commenced on 1 July 2008.  Mirror application legislation has been enacted in other jurisdictions implementing the National Gas Law in all States and Territories.  The National Gas Law reforms gas access regulation and replaces the Gas Pipelines Access (South Australia) Act 1997, commonly known as the Gas Code.  

Under the National Gas Law, the Council maintains a similar, but more expansive role to that it undertook under the former Gas Code.  In addition to making recommendations on coverage and revocation of coverage, and no-coverage and price regulation exemptions for greenfields pipelines, the Council is responsible for classifying and reclassifying pipelines, determining the form of regulation and providing advice on an application for amendment to a pipeline description referred to it by the relevant Minister. 

The Council’s Guide to the National Gas Law is available for downloading below.

Gas Guide, October 2013 (PDF, 1.09MB)