Our councillors

There are currently three councillors of the National Competition Council, with a variety of backgrounds and a wide range of skills and experience. The councillors are appointed by the Governor-General under section 29C of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010, with the agreement of a majority of the states and territories party to the Competition Principles Agreement.

Julie-Anne Schafer - President

Ms Julie-Anne Schafer is the President of the National Competition Council. Ms Schafer was appointed for a period of three years from 18 December 2015.

Ms Schafer has 25 years of experience as a partner in the legal services sector. She has served on advisory committees for the law faculties of several universities in Queensland. She was also the Deputy Chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology. She has over 15 years of directorship experience in diverse and highly regulated sectors, including road and rail transport.

Ms Schafer has a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) degree and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Linda Evans

Ms Linda Evans was reappointed to the Council in December 2016 for a one year term.  Ms Evans was first appointed to the Council in July 2013.  Ms Evans is an experienced lawyer with particular expertise in competition law and regulatory issues.  She has experience acting for the private sector, government and industry bodies across a range of network industries.

Ms Evans is a partner in Clayton Utz based in Sydney and has been a member and former chair of the board at Clayton Utz. Ms Evans is on the editorial board, Competition Law International, the Journal of the Antitrust Committee of the International Bar Association and a director of Cycling Australia.

Ms Evans has served on the ABA Antitrust Section International Task Force, on the faculty of various ABA/IBA International Cartel Workshops, the Law Council of Australia, Federal Court Liaison Committee and was Co-Chair, Power Law Committee of the International Bar Association, 2009-2010.

Ms Evans has a Bachelor of Jurisprudence and a Bachelor of Laws, both from the University of Western Australia and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Martin Wallace

Mr Martin Wallace was appointed to the Council for a period of three years from 18 December 2015.

Mr Wallace was previously the Secretary of the Tasmania Department of Treasury and Finance. He has more than 30 years of direct experience in public administration and business and financial management in addition to his experience with the energy and telecommunications sectors and regulatory policy. He is an experienced board member and has been a director of Aurora Energy Pty Ltd, Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation and Tastel Limited.

Mr Wallace has a Bachelor of Economics (Honours) degree.